purple shampoo review

I’m not going to claim to be an expert on the purple shampoo world, I mean I’ve only been blonde for like 4 months,but I have found some that work! If you aren’t aware what purple shampoo is, it is a miracle worker. It is a toning shampoo that takes the brassiness and yellow out of your hair, and makes it a nice ashy tone. It’s basically essential for people who dye their hair blonde, but you could use it on brown hair to get brassy tones out as well.

My process for going blonde went a little like this: I was bored with my hair and thought it could be fun to put some blonde into it. You know, an ombre or melt or something, just to give it a new look. I went to the salon and told her I wanted to add some blonde to my hair but I wanted my roots to still be my natural color and I wanted it to look natural when it grows out. So she said she would do a balayage and I was like let’s do it! At first I wasn’t wanting all my hair blonde, but it turned out good. So after bleaching my hair, we toned it, and toned it, and toned it. (Now I had dyed my hair a reddish-purple color years before, and the red color stuck really good). She said to use purple shampoo on it for 2 weeks, and if it still wasn’t the color I wanted, we would bleach it again. Fast forward 2 weeks and it still hadn’t changed in color, so I went in to bleach it again (which apparently can be super dangerous and you can damage your hair big time, but it ended up fine), and the color was perfect!

Naissant shampoo and treatment: 9/10

These products together are super amazing! You do have to be careful with them though, because the treatment will turn your hair purple if you don’t rinse it out completely. I like to think I’m a little edgy and so I kind of liked the purple. (If your hair does turn purple, it will wash out with the next wash.) It is a bit more expensive together (a total of $37.98) and they’re both only 10.1 oz. But if the price doesn’t scare you away, I would highly recommend it! I recently just bought the treatment one and used it, and it worked wonderfully, so really you don’t need both, but they work super well together! With the treatment, I had tons of people ask if I dyed my hair again, so obviously there was a drastic enough color change if people (even boys) were noticing.

Naissant Treatment Blond Pearl Perla Beige  10.1 fl. oz.(300ml) ($18.99)

Naissant Purple Shampoo Blond Pearl Perla Beige 10.1 fl. oz.(300ml) ($18.99)

These are some of the photos from when I’ve had my hair turn purple:

Matrix Total Results Color Obsessed So Silver Shampoo: 8/10

I think the goal with any purple shampoo is to get rid of the brassiness and to have people ask you if you dyed your hair. Am I right? Well this happens all the time with this purple shampoo! It doesn’t turn your hair purple (sometimes gives it a slight purple undertone though) and it is a good deal if you buy the 33.79 oz. It’s not one of the shampoos where you have to let it sit in your hair for 30 minutes to get your desired look, although they do recommend letting it sit for 3-5 minutes. It’s quick, it’s inexpensive, and it works well.

Matrix Total Results Color Obsessed So Silver Shampoo  33.79 oz (999.2 ml) ($23.49)

Matrix Total Results Color Obsessed So Silver Shampoo 10.1 oz (298.7 ml) ($13.20)

Color Proof Signature Blonde Violet Shampoo: 4/10

This purple shampoo was the first one I ever tried. I got it from Peerless Beauty (which you need a license to purchase from). I had no idea what purple shampoos worked, and they only had a few to pick from. I asked one of the girls working there and she recommended it. I used this right when I bleached my hair the first time, and I felt like it didn’t really work at all. I wanted my hair to be blonder, so I did some research online, and found this video The New Way to Use Purple Shampoo on Platinum Hair (this is where I found out about the Naissant shampoo and treatment). I tried her technique with this purple shampoo, and it didn’t change the color at all. I do know someone who uses the whole line from this company in the purple shampoo department, and she loves it and her hair is great! so it might just be me, but I think there is better out there.

Color Proof Signature Blonde Violet Shampoo 10.1 oz (298.7 ml) ($44)

**THIS NEXT ONE I HAVEN’T TRIED BUT JUST WATCH THE VIDEO AND YOU’LL UNDERSTAND WHY I’M ADDING IT!**

Fanola No Yellow Shampoo: N/A

I haven’t tried this one, but my sister told me about it and shared this video with me, and I think it looks like it would be an awesome purple shampoo! It is a bit pricey, but if you’re willing to pay the price, I’m sure it works well! In the video he uses the shampoo on extensions, and also on an actual head, so you can see the different results on each. here’s the video: BLONDE to SILVER hair WITHOUT using COLOR!

Fanola No Yellow Shampoo  11.8 oz (350 ml) ($53.95)

 

 

Leave a Reply

